Dissertation

I don’t remember a lot about writing my dissertation at undergraduate level – I was at about the same stage with that as I am with my PG one now, seven years ago. A lifetime. In the end, I went down a route which involved a few trips to the library, but mostly a pile of transcription work with a crack copy of Sibelius on my little laptop at home. This time round, it’s going to quite different, I think.

I’ve not done anything remotely resembling social science research before. This is going to (probably) involve questionnaires; interviewing Haringey council; archival research in Lambeth; a big old literature review. It’ll mean investigating subjects like governance and social housing, and New Labour initiatives like Mixed Communities and anti-social behaviour orders. It’s based exactly where I live, which is pretty lovely, but it’s all new – I have another slog for the next few months. Can’t waste my time in procrastination, now can I? [end post]

Leave a Reply

