I’m how close to citing Zizek?

I’ve spent my Christmas/new year mostly thinking about two very different essays I’m writing. Far more so than my undergrad days, the thoughts and concepts and processes take up my waking hours now, and I have random tidbits of urbanisms roving around my head constantly. As I mentioned previously, one of them was a philosophical exercise as much as anything, which flexed my conceptual head-muscles. Lots of working out what postmodernism actually is (it seems to only be definable by what it’s not…), applying crazy Frenchmen to things, deconstructing linguistics and generally having fun.

The next one, that I’m engaged with now, is about gentrification, like pretty much everything else this term. But it’s really about more than that, it’s about global cities in the global network. But it’s more fundamental than that, about the causes and foundations of both, it’s about economic liberalism, human preference, class, race. Money, human greed, that sort of thing. I’ll knock it out in five minutes.

I’m totally loving being a student. I have six weeks holiday at Christmas and in no way resent working solidly throughout on these essays – in fact, I’m happy to do so. I even enjoyed the critical review in qualitative research, which doesn’t have a lot going for it. Next week I’m starting up lectures again, this time in urban policy and urban sustainability governance, and I’m totally up for it. Woo!

Leave a Reply

