This week I have mostly been reading.

It’s fairly standard practice for bloggers to apologise on a regular basis for not posting enough, so I’m not going to bother really. I’ve got better things to do than blogging at the moment, and they mostly seem to revolve around reading. Also, there’s reading and some more reading, then lectures where we’re told that we ought to read more carefully. So this week I’ve been bringing myself up to speed on the world/global city hypothesis of John Friedmann and Saskia Sassen, and a bit of Doreen Massey; gentrification in Barnsbury and Wandsworth, via Loretta Lees (who was supposed to be teaching my course, but is on sabbatical. I don’t feel I’m missing out though, her replacement is a dude); the environmental justice movement courtesy of David Harvey (I’ve decided I ♥ Marxist geographers) and the philosophies of science via Chalmers and Sherlock Holmes.

It’s been a full week so far, I think it would be fair to say, but it would be also reasonable to say that it’s been really great fun. I never got to do the proper university business first time round, so this time I’ve been stowing myself away in little booths in the Maughan library clocktower, and downloading journal articles left right and centre. This morning I even hacked it to Wood Green library and installed myself in their (somewhat chilly) quiet study area with Nick Cave for company. It’s been great. I love having the excuse to buy/read/borrow piles of books – representative samples this week would include Doreen Massey’s World City, Chris Hamnett‘s (who is teaching me) Unequal City, and my latest acquisition, Owen Hatherley‘s Militant Modernism, which I shall be reading on the way down to a field trip to the Ferrier Estate tomorrow to put myself in the mood for some blasted brutalism. In a few weeks I can get away with going to a lunchtime lecture on the death of neoliberalism by Slavoj Zizek as well (so cool he not only has a movie about him but also a journal of Zizek studies), the world is truly my lobster.

2 Responses

  1. Hey Simon–

    Just read you comment on my blog. We’ve got a historic/ Conservation Area Advisory Committee going in Noel park now. We meet the second Wednesday of each month — except December –in Shropshire hall. Also, our local MP, Lynn Featherstone is going to do a walk through of the estate on Nov. 27th to discuss conservation issues.

    If you’re interested in any of that, please email me privately & I’ll fill you in on the details.

    If you’re interested in any

  2. Cheers – I can’t find your email address? Can you let me know, and I’ll be in touch. I’m at simonbriercliffe [at] gmail [dot] com. Ta!

Leave a Reply

