Master of all I survey

I’ve just returned from my very first session at Kings for the Masters degree I’m starting. It’s pretty exciting: there was slabs for dead bodies, and men with animations of sand dunes, that sort of thing. I’m really in the mood for this now: my last day of employment for the next year is on Friday, and then on Monday I’ll be starting lectures on subjects like conceptualising the city, urban sustainability and the like.

It’s far removed from what I’ve done before, a rigidly linear progression through a curriculum of sound engineering that taught me few transferable life skills, but did ensconce me in an industrial chic styled bunker in the butt end of Islington for two years. Compared to that, this is a completely separate thing: whereas before the written references were from a library one shelf long, I now have the Maughan library at my disposal and all the expertise of an actually really good university at my disposal. I have the choice to tailor my course to my interests, and to use my brain for the first time in about eight years – I was especially cheered by the expression that the masters tutor used, that there’s nothing descriptive, all critical. It’s thinking!

I suppose this is a bit first-step-of-the-rest-of-my-life, which is interesting. Presumably I’ll soon be waffling on at you about the new urbanism, gentrification, housing policy and the like, you lucky people.

One Response

  1. […] it by essentially counting them manually. And still I don’t care: from today, as mentioned on Monday, I am officially a postgraduate student and studying for an MA (or maybe an MSc) at King’s […]

Leave a Reply

