Keeping up

I’ve been exercising, carefully, and resting, plenty, and I’m making progress. The human body is an amazing thing. At the moment I’m wombling around the house on my crutches up and down stairs; I’ve had a go at some very light washing up, making the tea sort of jobs, and went out for a jaunt yesterday, to the nurse and then for coffee. (In a car, of course…)

All going well then, and have watched many, many sitcoms. I’ve also been reading plenty and have got through GK Chesterton’s (albeit slim) The Napoleon of Notting Hill in about a day. Lots of fun, bit Wilde-y which is always nice, and I’m always happy to read of people in coats and hats. This one takes a turn for the absurd as blood runs through the streets of West London, but it’s all a slight, enjoyable read. A bit of French psychological drama now: Vertigo, or as it was originally published, The Living and the Dead by Boileau and Narcejac. Do French writers often go in pairs like this? I can’t help but be reminded of Goscinny & Uderzo.

Leave a Reply

