Keep tomorrow dark

While I’m sat down a lot, and tired of the fluorescent glare from the TV, I’m going to try reading a lot. And doing other things of course, but plenty of reading. Polishing off Nick Hornby’s The Complete Polysyllabic Spree has helped get back some of the appetite that I want and so I’m going to take a few little books like a hurdle sprint.

First up is GK Chesterton (by whom I’ve read nothing before), with The Napoleon of Notting Hill. This cropped up in a charity shop shortly after I had read about it in Peter Ackroyd’s voluminous London: The Biography. So I thought I’d give it a shot. If there’s one area of my reading that’s underrepresented, it’s early C20 comedy – in fact, comedy as a whole for some reason, so after a pretty successful stab at Evelyn Waugh a while back, I’m going to steep myself in 1904 for a while (although I think the way it’s set places it about now anyway).

It’s started off well, with a comic philosophical introduction, and I’ll end with the following pithy observation.

Humanity as a whole is changeful, mystical, fickle, delightful. Men are men, but Man is a woman.

Leave a Reply

