The big man joined the band

Despite the vastness of Spotify (follow it on Sweeping The Nation), I find myself listening mostly to music I already have. I think this proves my good taste, but nevertheless I’ve noticed a trend in the last few weeks. Not the increased variety in adverts as more and more people sign up for the wonderful service, but rather in my own listening tastes. Days have been dominated of late by Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band, Elvis Costello & the Attractions, and today is Neil Young & Crazy Horse day. Notice a theme?

I wonder what happens to musicians that are basically a backing band, once the star moves on? Some (e.g. The Band) m0ve on to greater things, but most fade into the ether. What have Crazy Horse done of note, or the Attractions, or Pete Seeger’s Silver Bullet Band, or Tom Petty’s Heartbreakers? I look for correction, but I don’t see any Crazy Horse albums topping any lists.

I suppose the exceptions in my list are the E Street Band. Not content with being a household name via The Boss, between them they’ve worked as career backing musicians for the likes of Meat Loaf and Bonnie Tyler (awesome), Bob Dylan, um Ringo Starr and many more, as well as the occasional solo release, particularly for The Big Man Clarence Clemons.

I don’t know though, it seems like you’re dedicating yourself to a lifetime of lack of limelight taking on backing work. Maybe I’m wrong. Any more ideas to top up my playlist?

Leave a Reply

