Let’s dine, let’s dine away…

I’m existing in an Apprentice-shaped void at the moment. Celebrity #rnd Apprentice? Rubbish. I want the full horror. Unless I’ve missed something though it seems to be not with us, in the which case I’m gorging on swathes of lower-level TV for my evenings. Whether it’s the more sophisticated banter of Frasier, or the OCD-fuelled Monk, or some less cerebral Family Guy, these things tend to come in batches.

Of late, I’ve had my train-wreck quotient filled by Come Dine With Me, something I’ve only discovered via More 4 repeats. It’s the archetype of contestant selection: pick one or two normal people to curry viewer sympathy and to make the show vaguely educational in terms of cooking. Then fill up the remainding slots with insane monsters, ideally showing off one of the following traits: obsessed with self; obsessed with one other person; potentially unsafe cook; some extreme lifestyle (e.g. witch, tory); likely to arrange a themed dinner party.

The scraping of the barrel is almost audible, but Channel 4 manage to dredge out the most horrific combinations of personalities seen since Big Brother began. 

Stupid reality TV: I hate it, in its myriad pernicious forms. Yet, just like I can’t tear my eyes away from police tape, I want to know what goes on and I end up sucked in. At some point, in some near future, I’ll shoot the TV, Elvis style. But not while Frasier’s still showing on Paramount Comedy.

One Response

  1. Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

Leave a Reply

