Frugality

 

Charity shop Colwyn Bay, from Victoria Reays photostream, under Creative Commons

Charity shop Colwyn Bay, from Victoria Reay's photostream, under Creative Commons

I’m writing down what I’ve bought from charity shops this week, and I’m starting to think that really, economy is maybe not the purpose of my visits.

 

  • Prada shoes, £5, Amersham
  • Hugo Boss shirt, Gerrard’s Cross
  • French Connection shirt, £4.50, Pinner
  • Antal Szerb, Journey By Moonlight
  • Three Gothic Novels
  • Harpo Marx, Harpo Speaks! £2.99 West Hampstead
  • Arabia, Jonathan Raban
  • Picture This, Joseph Heller
  • Vertigo, Boileau and Narcejac, Abingdon, 50p
  • John Betjeman, Trains & Buttered Toast, £2.99, Abingdon
  • Tenessee Williams, A Streetcar Named Desire, Abingdon
  • DVD: Psycho
  • Interpol: Our Love To Admire, Beaconsfield
  • Art of Noise: The Seduction of Claude Debussy, Beaconsfield
  • Fugees: The Score, Gerrards Cross
  • Muji blackboard globe
  • Morphy Richards coffee machine, £6, Headington

Gaps in the information? There’s tons that I’ve missed out, so much so that I’ve forgotten it all, and I daren’t add up the totals. Needless to say, my bookshelf is heaving and my wardrobe (particularly my shoe rack…) is struggling. But you know what, exactly what I want to do with a day is hop in the motor, drive off to some nice place, new or familiar, see what’s there, have a mooch around and some coffee, and poke around for bargains. This week I’ve had my skates on, and visited: Beaconsfield, Gerrards Cross, Chalfont St Peter, Amersham, Abingdon, Headington, Summerstown, Didcot, Pinner, Rickmansworth, Ruislip, West Hampstead, Golders Green. I like it, and if I get a whole week to do it, all the better. To many happy days out in the future *clinky clinky*

Charity Shop Tourism

Leave a Reply

