Bad Twitter, Bad.

Laptop dead, using wordpad on ancient desktop with no internet, therefore approx 10 thousand times more productive.

Having sat at home the last few days trying to organise myself to do the big chunk of work that I needed to do, I can safely say I really struggle with organising myself on my own time. My computer at work points to a wall: but there’s a very tight angle where my line manager can see my screen and, although he really doesn’t care, that inspires at least a modicum of embarassment at doing too much interwebbing.

But left to my own devices at home, where TweetDeck pops up a new distraction every 45 seconds or so, where Google Reader’s tempting list of Lovely Things keeps calling, where WordPress, or Google Maps, or Genes Reunited, or any of these things beckon constantly, I struggle to organise myself. In order to get anything at all done I need to turn off TweetDeck, close my Gmail tab and generally knuckle down. I’ve also discovered the importance of taking a break: at work, my job is not really very important, in the grand scheme of things. At home, I’m doing stuff I want to do, so it’s more important to me. At work, it’s no bother to browse a pile of interwebs instead of doing my job. At home, if Iconcentrate on what I’m doing I get burnt out after about 45 minutes, and have to go outside. It’s weird.

So Ben Goldacre, I understand your plight, and perhaps think I need something of the enforced absence myself. Thank goodness I have someone around to point this out to me.

Leave a Reply

