Alpha Bravo Victor Whale

 

Greek Mythology Family Tree, from Alan M-As photostream. Click pic for link.

Greek Mythology Family Tree, from Alan M-A's photostream. Click pic for link.

My head is full of names. George, Herbert, William, Frederick. Victor, Whale, Iden, Lancaster. It’s like some brand new alphabet that only I can understand.

 

In working through the dim and distant past of my personal history, you come across not just the same surnames (obviously) but also the same first names. I’ve seen someone’s tree where the father’s line was named David Davies back to the 18th century – I knew you couldn’t trust the Welsh, it’s like they’re hiding something.

Whereas someone with a middle name of ‘Whale’ is clearly a character. What’s in a name? I imagine George Whale P. to be a formidable entity, but how did his parents know that at birth? Does your name shape you? If so, why have I not become an estate agent?

It’s an intensive question that doesn’t bear too detailed an investigation at six minutes to home time, but one thing I know.

My kids are going to hate me.

Leave a Reply

