To be fair, I was starvin’

One of the highlights of my trip to the States last year was doing some of those things you imagine are part of everyday American life, but are unknown here. The most noted one of these was breakfast in the Square Diner, by the Franklin St subway stop. I had pancakes with blueberries, orange juice, coffee that got refilled. You know the drill.

So it was with immense pleasure that I found myself in Starvin’ Marvins just recently. While the mean streets of Perivale are a long way from Tribeca, or in fact anywhere in America, I was gratified to find an experience not all that dissimilar. The holiday season caused my start to the day to go in slo-mo (read: I was asleep most of it), and thus we missed breakfast by about 15 minutes, but not to worry! A giant chilli burger, twister fries and strawberry milkshake really hit the spot. The diner is just ace – all decked out in neon and bumper stickers and roadsigns, it’s housed in some sort of converted train carriage, itself sleek and silver, like a 1950’s spaceship with booths. Starvin’ Marvin: I’ll be seeing you again…

Leave a Reply

