The Chancery

Yesterday was the work Christmas meal, a fairly sedate affair compared to the considerably more raucous, certainly more numerous dos that I was used to at my previous employment. Those were organised by yours truly: not for the sake of raucousness, you understand, and certainly not for the fun of the organisation – they say the most stressful things in life are moving and getting married, and I would happily add organising a works Christmas do for a large office to that list.

In the past I’ve organised successful jaunts – a couple to the butt-end of Islington’s favourite swanky pub, Shillibeers, the second of which coincided with the warders’ night out from Holloway Prison – butches and lipstick aplenty. This time, I happily had nothing to do with it, and just 5 of us ended up at The Chancery, Cursitor Street. Squaremeal liked it – I wasn’t completely convinced. There was certainly nothing to fault it on, don’t get me wrong – a Christmas rush like that must signify something’s going right.

But there wasn’t the panache or fanciness in the food that I’d expect from a forty-quid set menu. Starting with a decent enough spinach and ricotta ravioli, topped with what seemed like bits out of the middle of a Crunchie bar and chopped up York Fruits, I was happy enough – the amuse bouche, a cauliflower and balsamic soup was also excellent.

The main of suckling pig was… not bad. The meat itself was tender and well-cooked but the crackling just wasn’t crackly enough. Now, I’ve eaten a lot of pork in my time. I know what good pork is (go to Rosemary Lane or Maze for my favourite examples, succullent and unctuous both). This was good pork, but let down by the crackling. Nice potato cake though.

Can’t fault the Christmas pud, however, and the service was nice (esp. in The Case Of The Deflated Soufflee) if a little inconsistent in timing. All in all, it wasn’t bad, but I’d choose others over The Chancery at this price.

See opinions from:

LDN: Hot Or Not
Gluttonous Sins 
Giles Coren

Leave a Reply

