Sretan Božic

 

East End Road, East Finchley, by DG Jones. Christmas meets Back To The Future. Great Scott!

East End Road, East Finchley, by DG Jones. Christmas meets Back To The Future. Great Scott!

I frighten myself sometimes. Three days ago, if you’d have told me that I would have done all my Christmas shopping, in its entirity, in totality, that is, I’d have said you were mad. By 6pm Saturday evening, though, there I was, breathless and exhilerated in the multistorey of Hatfield’s premier factory outlet shopping centre, car boot literally heaving with bags and boxes. I have now bought sufficient presentage for:

 

 

  • two parents
  • two brothers
  • one sister
  • one sister in law
  • one brother in law
  • one nephew
  • one niece
  • one flatmate
  • three other friends

 

And that’s it, that’s all I have to buy. It wasn’t even December, yet my curmudgeonly Scrooge genes didn’t put up enough resistance, and now I can kick back and relax. Plans include:

 

  • The now-staple It’s A Wonderful Life at Hampstead Everyman Cinema
  • Potential for Christmas Markets – at least one of several, I hope
  • Maybe a gawp at the skaters and shoppers in Winchester, back ‘ome.
  • London home-based feast, maybe with Phil Vickery’s three bird roast (unless I feel guilty, like that’s cheating) (although, it’s probably wise, usually we just end up buying the last turkey in Tescos)
  • Carol service
  • Other such festive mooching

 

Joyeux Noel, Decemberist!

Leave a Reply

