No tiny veal

 

Lullaby, by Micah Taylor

Lullaby, by Micah Taylor

To say I’m holed up in bed would probably be stretching things a little, but nonetheless I am tucked away at home with some sort of bug – it’s not painful, but as soon as I try and do something, I know about it. So, as is the way with this sort of thing, nothing productive at all gets accomplished, and the day is spread between three main activities: watching films, reading books, eating. The old adage of ‘feed a cold, starve a fever’ is really just an excuse: yesterday I ate a lot, and I enjoyed every moment of it.

 

This sort of does afford the opportunity to watch some films however, something which I don’t get around to nearly as much as I used to. So yesterday I watched Confessions of a Dangerous Mind and, in keeping with my current reading, Fight Club. I’ve almost no familiarity with Chuck Palahniuk, but in the parallels between Lullaby and Fight Club I can see a very interesting writer, with a really nice turn of phrase.

Since waking up with head full of pristine dead babies the other, I’ve rapidly waded through Lullaby and pretty much enjoyed it. For a novel which is on the out-there side of the spectrum it’s really a pleasure to read: Palahniuk has a way with a phrase or thought that really stands out.

“You turn up your music to hide the noise. Other people turn up their music to hide yours. You turn up yours again. Everyone buys a bigger stereo system. This is the arms race of sound. You don’t win with a lot of treble. This isn’t about quality. It’s about volume. This isn’t about music. This is about winning.”

Thematically, Lullaby reminds of Fight Club, especially in the character of Oyster, the militant hippy (the worst sort: as Streator says, my cheese is not a tiny veal) who’s all about bringing down the systems of the world, et cetera ad infinitum, but overall it’s a tidy, concise story of death, magic, living with loss, your own and others. It’s due to be filmed by a Swede. I liked it, so will certainly be investigating more Palahniuks: come on charity shops, don’t fail me now!

Leave a Reply

