Waking up is hard to do

In just a short while, I should be picking up my shiny new bike, at least, when Cycle Surgery have it ready. With this bike, as is the purpose of Cycle Scheme, I’ll be riding to work, and because of this, I’m going to have to get up earlier. Not a great deal earlier, but past experience has told me that anything pre-7am is disproportionately hard to do, and so I figure: I need practice.

The upshot of this is this. I’m taking my lunch in my departed manager’s office and though there’s a chill to the air outside, the sun is shining and the large window makes the room warmer than my regular office. I eat my lunch (one roast beef sandwich; one cheese and pickle; one cereal bar; one banana) and I am reading – as discussed, I am reading Palahniuk’s Lullaby, a strange tale of cot death and witches (I think, at least. Slashfilm and Film School Rejects tells me that they’re currently casting for a movie, which could be curious, although I predict now that it gets Ring comparisons). I am listening to Hood’s very lovely Outside Closer, all drifting strings and washing beats.

 

Most of the laugh tracks on television were recorded in the early 1950s. These days, most of the people you hear laughing are dead.

 
The room is warm, the chair is comfortable. And there, I’m off into light, superficial sleep, all sliding cupboard doors of dreams and images from the book drifting through my head. Dead babies, in (I’m guessing) a less horrific form than Martin Amis; the canned laughter of dead people; and I’m awake again, and I’ve been asleep ten minutes. I’ve never done that before. 

I think I like it.

Lullaby – audio book

Hood – The Negatives…

Leave a Reply

