Kafkaesque

I’ve just finished rereading The Trial (Douglas Scott’s translation, pretty good), and was struck more than when I read it first (to be fair, a 14 year old won’t get a lot from Kafka). I recognise so much more these days, the endless bureaucracy where deeper and deeper levels of red-tape are included seemingly just for the sake of it. Kafka was pretty prescient – having been inducted, without any desire in that direction, briefly into the world of management and budgets, I sympathise with Josef K – I wonder just how many people in my (or any) workplace have very little idea of what they’re doing most of the time.

I know that’s true for me, stupid finances. My replacement for this temporary bit starts Monday, thank goodness. I can’t take much more of this, my head might explode. Or, I might find myself led off by two kindly, acquiescent ushers… but I spoil.

Next up, Neal Stephenson‘s Cryptonomicon, which seems to me like an Umberto Eco for the xkcd generation. Sweet.

2 Responses

  1. cryptonomicon is one of my favorite novels; a fun read.

  2. It would be, Nasa boy.

Leave a Reply

