They don’t sleep on the beaches, anymore

I so rarely post about music anymore. Despite what you may believe from browsing recent posts, I’m not a political animal, I don’t like it. It’s just that I find that I find out what I myself believe through writing, often. Not about the truly essential stuff of life: but about political stances (and sorry, I don’t consider that to be indispensable), reading, food, my own education, all these things. I don’t tend to read back what I blog before I post, whether it’s a quick note, a link, or full-blown, clever-sounding essay of a post, and so my writing is a little bit of self-exploration. Or rather, it is hereelsewhere, when I write, my thoughts are distinctly more carefully considered. But I like this style of blogging, it means I keep track on the development of my own ideas over time, and as i’ve never kept anything resembling a journal, it’s quite nice.

But I don’t often post about music anymore. In many ways, it’s a better thing than politics, than the hack and slash of left vs. right, the ideologies and the theories and the conjectures. I’ve never found a single political ideology or philosophy that adequately covers this human sphere quite as completely and satisfactorily as my own christian faith, and therefore while these things are interesting, I consider myself a little removed from them, like they’re separate things, outside of my immediate vicinity.

But music. Art and creativity and emotion and soul, that which separates us from the animals. This cuts across political boundaries (or should), all divides, all barriers. Even if it’s just the Four Tet EP that was on my mind at the beginning of the post, a bounteous morass of techno, Glass-esque minimalism and outlandish drum loops. This is a far better thing than the ructions of fractious mankind and the squabbly, myopic attempts to resolve things, far better than most things, you know.

3 Responses

  1. […] Below The Beltway wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt I so rarely post about music anymore. Despite what you may believe from browsing recent posts, I’m not a political animal, I don’t like it. It’s just that I find that I find out what I myself believe through writing, often. Not about the truly essential stuff of life: but about political stances (and sorry, I don’t consider that to be indispensable), reading, food, my own education, all these things. I don’t tend to read back what I blog before I post, whether it’s a quick note, a link, or ful […]

  2. nuclei says : I absolutely agree with this !

  3. recentness says : I absolutely agree with this !

Leave a Reply

