Souper

I have soup. It’s nice. It’s keeping me company on my lunch break.

As I was logging in to WordPress just now, the “hawt post” of the day was from the fabled Stuff White People Like. I hadn’t looked at this before, and I’m starting to both regret the fact that I did, and resent it. This is post-irony at its most American. Americans (at least so it seems to us outsiders) never really got irony; therefore the blogging generation skipped a beat and hopped straight to the self-deprecating white-boy angst of the awkward phase that’s halfway between geek-and-proud (a la xkcd) and out-and-out normal person.

So I’m sticking with my bloggers from this side of the pond. Here we carp about architecture, or blog in some sort of made-up youth language (I kid, I dig) or waffle about music in unintelligible fashion. It’s all a lot more appealing than the self-loathing-yet-sickeningly-condescending mp3 blog world, or the mass consumer culture of the celebrity obsessed uber-blogs. I have warbled on for no reason for 176 words now; I will now stop.

One Response

  1. […] Expert Koi Ponds Advice and Information wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptSo I’m sticking with my bloggers from this side of the pond. Here we carp about architecture, or blog in some sort of made-up youth language (I… […]

Leave a Reply

