Architecture in Beantown

I’m staying in a hotel designed for relaxation. It has carefully selected colour schemes and haikus everywhere. Yet there’s a big old noisy fan in the corner. Fatal flaw! I’ll be used to it soon…

Today was spent in Boston – arriving, driving, talking, viewing, eating. It’s a good town! I’ve decided Custom House is my new favourite building in the world – a huge, random, olde-looking tower in the middle of the city. It’s a real old/new place – different to London where the last 200 years are all represented, it’s a combination of colonial, turn of the C.20, and brand new skyscrapers. A heady mix, no doubt, but beautiful, especially at night. I approve.

I also drove on the other side of the road for the first time today, and with a SatNav for the first time. A wealth of new experiences, to be certain. In America, I have to admit, they do drive on the right side. Back home, however, we drive on the correct side – for some reason, this way round makes no sense. I didn’t die though, which was nice.

Leave a Reply

