Catchup

Art by damien weighillI finally got the internet working at home yesterday (after about 8 months) – the solution? A long cable. Ah, but the joy now – I can do exactly what I do at work: at home! Including blog at weekends, maybe. Hopefully I’ll update my flickr more.

So let’s see, what have I done recently? Explored Windsor; purchased fodder for my forthcoming column; joined the massed ranks of modern mankind with a credit card; stayed up late chatting; missed sleep; had snacks. I’ve mostly been concentrating on the Indie’s excellent series on philosophy. It’s a great way to bone up on my wordy stuff, and has the advantage of being a little less basic than Sophie’s World, much as I admire the thought that went into that.

I’m so far on St Thomas Aquinas and have the likes of Bacon, Pascal and Descartes to go today. It’s an interesting study for me: I have my own philosophies, and I like seeing how they match up to the great thinkers. Often different, often the same, I find.

I’ve also been slowly building up excitement for Super Tuesday. American politics holds a morbid fascination for most other countries, because with all the hype and bluster, the obscene sums, the backbiting and verbal assassination, this is the race to become the single most powerful person in the world (at least, unless you’re a bit more conspiracy minded than I). I’m holding out for Obama – he’s got a bit more life about him than Clinton’s cold dead eyes, but, like so many, I’m rejoicing in the fact that the leaders in the race seem to be a woman or a black man, something unforeseeable even last time around.

Leave a Reply

