I don’t care what none of y’all say, I still love her

I find the various namechecking and diss-trading of hip hop to be a little surreal, if fascinating. Kanye West’s Golddigger was just on the radio, and despite his slightly more cerebral reputation, it’s still knocking back other rappers, and it’s still about hip hop’s current traditions, women and money. It is a bit smarter, but its pinnacle (even above the insanely catchy Jamie Foxx refrain) is the title of this post, a little line that shows that even rappers have feelings.

It reminded me of a post the other regarding Lil Wayne by that lovable Stokie-type Akira The Don. I don’t really know who Lil Wayne is, other than that he has the sort of name you’d normally associate with a buck-toothed youngster round these parts, but touchingly he’s being mocked by the hip hop community for falling in love. Or so I understand, that’s quite possibly totally wrong.

Anyway, I think love is expressed pretty lamely in most pop music these days. It’s either a very lust-based, one-d expression, or overwrought, overly-dramatic heartbreak tales. People are lame. I prefer my declarations short, sweet and simple: one I heard last night, “love never fails.” It’s from the bible innit.

One Response

  1. Должен признать, вебмастер ништяк отжег!

Leave a Reply

